Tags

, , ,

One of the things I like to do in our house is Meatless Mondays. It helps me be more decisive when menu planning, and it’s both frugal and healthy to go meatless at least one day a week. One of the most popular meatless dishes in my house is leek and potato soup. Added bonus: it’s extremely easy, and it’s toddler approved.

My husband isn’t a big soup person, but he loves this one! He also swears it helps him feel better when he’s sick, so he always requests it whenever he catches a bug. Some people do chicken noodle soup; my family does leek and potato soup.

Those of you following along on my Instagram may have seen that my son, after getting over a pretty intense fever, caught a nasty cough off of some kids that I babysit. So, I decided to test my husband’s theory about leek and potato soup’s healing powers. Owen even helped out in the kitchen, even though he was feeling under the weather.

Once it was finished, he enjoyed it so much, he had an entire coffee mug’s worth of soup. The warmth helped soothe his poor throat after coughing for two days, and, by the next morning, his cough had improved significantly. So, who knows? Maybe my husband is right about its healing properties. 

The soup is incredibly easy to make, and my family and I make it multiple times a year. I hope those of you that make it enjoy, and, who knows, maybe you too will find it to be healing.

Leek and Potato Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 lb leeks
  • 1 lb potatoes
  • 8 cups chicken stock
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Method

  1. Peel and cube potatoes.
  2. Slice and clean grit out of leeks.
  3. Boil potatoes, leeks, chicken stock, salt and pepper for 40 minutes, with a lid on.
  4. Use a blender or immersion blender to puree.
  5. Stir in cup of heavy cream and bring back to a boil.
  6. Season to taste. (Note: I enjoy extra cracked pepper on mine, once served.)
